2012 Accolade Awards to Showcase OPP's "Best of the Best"

Oct 19, 2012

ORILLIA, ON, Oct. 19, 2012 /CNW/ - The Ontario Provincial Police will be recognizing some of its most distinguished members on Monday at its annual Accolade Awards ceremony.

Accolade Awards are presented to both uniform and civilian OPP personnel who make outstanding contributions to the organization and whose hard work and achievements also underscore the OPP's mission - "Policing Excellence through our People, our Work and our Relationships".

The awards program consists of various special team and individual categories.  Nominations are first submitted by colleagues and are then narrowed down by a distinguished panel of community members and OPP staff.  In the end, 12 remarkable individuals/teams are selected for their outstanding achievements.

The media are invited to attend this special awards ceremony.

Date:            Monday, October 22, 2012
Time:           Awards Ceremony: 1:30 p.m.


Auditorium, OPP General Headquarters
777 Memorial Avenue
Orillia, ON    


The awards ceremony runs from 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. (approx.).  Media will have an opportunity to meet the winners following the ceremony. 


Categories Winners
Officer of the Year Provincial Constable Gerry Dwyer
Civilian of the Year Mr. Rajender Sud
Auxiliary Liaison Officer of the Year Provincial Constable Vince Gircys
Jim Potts Award Aboriginal Issues Unit (see below)
Valuing & Supporting People North East Region Mentoring Program
Inspector Mark Andrews
Ms. Shantal Gallagher
Inspector Mary Shannon  
Enforcement Detective Constable Curtis Peckford
Investigation Individual - Provincial Constable Derek Wickett
Team - Project Wigan - Tori Stafford Homicide (See Below)
Innovation & Creativity Detective Constable Garry Mellan
Detective Constable Johnie Penner
Dedication Provincial Constable Al Boyd
Team Achievement Provincial Communications T.E.A.M.
(Together Everyone Achieves More)
(see below)
Community Service Provincial Constable Laurens Van der Mark
Partnership The Kenora Area Substance Abuse & Mental Health Task Force  (see below)


Aboriginal Issues Unit

Detective Constable C.F. (Carlo) Bruni Aboriginal Issues Unit - Sault Ste. Marie (POIB)
Detective Constable K.P. (Keith) Charette Aboriginal Issues Unit - Kingston
Detective Constable M.R. (Marc) Despres Aboriginal Issues Unit - Kenora
Detective Constable J.D. (Jeff) Goodman Aboriginal Issues Unit - Thunder Bay
Detective Constable M.E..(Mike) Hill Aboriginal Issues Unit - Kingston
Detective Sergeant A.I. (Alana) Jones Aboriginal Issues Unit
Detective Constable D.E. (Dave) Maddocks Aboriginal Issues Unit - Windsor
Detective Constable J.A.C. (Julianne) Sorensen Aboriginal Issues Unit - London

Project Wigan - Tori Stafford Homicide

Detective Sergeant B.D. (Bruce) Aitken Crime Prevention & Investigation
Detective Inspector K.M. (Mike) Bickerton Central Unit/Pen Squad/ROE
Provincial Constable R.A. (Robin) Brocanier Oxford County Detachment
Detective Constable C.A.(Colin) Darmon Regional Support Team
Detective Sergeant B.R. (Bryan) Gast Economic Crime Unit
Ms. A.T. (Angele) Gedrimas Central Unit/Pen Squad/ROE
Detective Constable C.M. (Chantal) Gingras Perth County Detachment
Staff Sergeant P. (Paul) Hess Woodstock Police Service
Detective Constable B.J. (Barb) Hoath Economic Crime Unit
Detective Constable G.L. (Gord) Johnson South Bruce Detachment
Detective Constable P.E. (Paula) King Regional Support Team
Acting Detective Sergeant J.P. (Jason) Miller Team 2 - Major Case Management
Detective Constable P.J. (Pat) Mullin Regional Support Team
Detective Constable K. (Karen) Overbaugh Woodstock Police Service
Detective Sergeant A.K. (Anthony) Renton Regional Support Team
Inspector W.A. (William) Renton Woodstock Police Service
Ms. J.E. (Jeanette) Sanderson Central Unit/Pen Squad/ROE
Identification Constable G.M. (Gary) Scoyne Forensic Identification Services - Tillsonburg
Detective Staff Sergeant J.M. (Jim) Smyth Central Unit/Pen Squad/ROE
Detective Constable J.K. (John) Spencer Economic Crime Unit
Sergeant J.J. (Jamie) Stirling Emergency Response
Detective R. (Rick) Walker Woodstock Police Service

Provincial Communications T.E.A.M. (Together Everyone Achieves More)

Ms. S.J. (Seneca) Brown PCC - Thunder Bay
Ms. C.J. (Carolyn) Croft PCC - Thunder Bay
Ms. A. (Allison) DeBenetti PCC - Thunder Bay
Ms. S.L. (Shana-Lee) Fillier PCC - Thunder Bay
Ms. M. (Maria) Harding PCC - Thunder Bay
Ms. D. (Deb) Muller PCC - Thunder Bay
Ms. C.C. (Cassandra) Nieuwesteeg  PCC - Thunder Bay

The Kenora Area Substance Abuse & Mental Health Task Force

Provincial Constable R.G. (Bob) Bernie Kenora Detachment
Provincial Constable D.S. (Dave) Cain Kenora Detachment
Ms. P. (Patti) Dryden-Holmstrom Morningstar Centre - Lake of the Woods District Hospital, Addiction Services
Inspector D.J. (Dave) Lucas Detachment Commander
Kenora Detachment
Ms. G. (Gillian) Lunny Kenora District Health Unit
Ms. K. (Kim) Elke Kenora District Health Unit
Mr. J. (Jack) Martin William W. Creighton Youth Services
Ms. M. (Michelle) Ott Firefly Child & Family Services
Superintendent S. (Steve) Walker Kenora District Jail


Follow us on Twitter at:  www.twitter.com/OPP_News




SOURCE: Ontario Provincial Police

For further information:

Terri McCormack, Communications Officer
Corporate Communications & Executive Services

Phone: (705) 329-6871